• Texas Compulsory Attendance Requirements 

    1.  The law requires that children attend school every day it is in session. The law amends student compulsory age from 6 to 19 years of age. The school attendance law also applies to voluntary enrollment of your child in prekindergarten or kindergarten before age 6 and any student 19 years.  (§ 25.085)

     2. The law states that it is the parent’s duty to monitor the student’s school attendance and require the student to attend school. If the parent fails to require the child to attend school as required by law, and the child has absences for the amount of time specified under Family Code 65.003(a): the parent commits an offense. (§ 25.093)

    3.  If a student is absent without excuse for ten or more days or parts of days within a six-month period in the same school year, the school shall refer the student to a truant court for truant conduct. (Family Code 65.003(a))

    4.  Accumulation of excessive absences in any high school course will delay your child in obtaining a Texas Driver’s License or participating in a Driver’s Education course until your child completes a semester with 90% attendance. (HB 5)

    5.  A student may not be given credit for a subject unless they have attended 90% of the classes for that year. (§ 25.092)

    La ley de asistencia escolar obligatoria de Texas

     El Código de Educación de Texas contiene una ley de asistencia obligatoria.

    1. La ley exige que los estudiantes asistan a la escuela todos los días designados como escolares. La ley obligatoria nueva incluye estudiantes de 6 a 19 años de edad.  La ley asistencia obligatoria se aplica a los estudiantes que son matriculados voluntariamente en pre-kínder y kínder antes de la edad de 6 años o estudiantes 19 años de edad y más. (§ 25.085)

    2. La ley requiere que los padres aseguren la asistencia obligatoria de un estudiante y que tomen la responsabilidad de revisar la asistencia.  Al no cumplir con la ley de asistencia obligatoria, y si un estudiante acumula demasiadas faltas bajo el Código Familiar 65.003(a), se le podrá referir a un corte tribunal.  Si alguno de los padres no responde a las cartas de advertencia, los padres cometen una ofensa. (§ 25.093)

    3. Si un estudiante está ausente sin excusa durante diez o más días o partes de día durante el mismo año  de escolar, durante un período de seis meses, la escuela puede acusar de delito de negligencia a los padres. (§ Código Familiar 65.003 (a))

    4.  La acumulación de faltas excesivas en un curso de secundaria podría afectar la participación en una clase para obtener la licencia de manejar un automóvil hasta que el estudiante cumpla con el 90% de asistencia obligatoria. (HB 5)

    5. No puede darse crédito al estudiante por una materia si no ha asistido el 90% de las clases de ese año escolar. (§ 25.092)

     

     

     

     

  • School Community Liaison Program

    The mission of the School Community Liaison Program is to provide prevention and intervention services to ensure students have regular and punctual attendance.  Liaison staff works with students, families and school personnel in implementing strategies and initiatives to improve school attendance.  Also, to ensure compliance with state and federal guidelines and assist in tracking student attendance data.